Debt and austerity measures imposed on Greece violate the human rights of the Greek people and international law

Since May 2010, Greece has been subjected to painful structural adjustment measures by its creditors. The economic and social effects are tragic. A Greek Debt Truth Commission has been created in April 2015 by the Greek Parliament. The preliminary report’s conclusions are clear: the debt and the austerity measures imposed on Greece violate human rights and international law, the debt claimed from Greece in 2015 is totally unsustainable, and much of it is illegal, illegitimate and odious and should be repudiated.

Continue reading

8 Proposals for the New Legally Binding International Instrument on Transnational Corporations (TNCs) and Human Rights

This submission contains eight proposals related to the nature, the scope, the form and the content of the future legally binding international instrument. It is submitted on behalf of the Global Campaign to Dismantle Corporate Power and Stop Impunity, an international network comprising over 200 social movements, networks, organizations, and representatives of victims and affected communities from all around the world.

Continue reading

Chevron’s activities impair freedom of expression of victims, academics, students and activists

In 26 years of oil drilling in the Amazon region of Ecuador, Chevron (formerly Texaco) polluted more than 450,000 hectares of one of the planet’s richest biodiversity regions, destroying the living and subsistence of its inhabitants. After 21 years of litigation, and despite a ruling by the Ecuadorian courts, impunity continues for Chevron, and the victims of its activities in Ecuador are still waiting for justice and compensation. For its part, Chevron denied liability and has devoted enormous efforts and resources to get the judgement set aside, persecute the victims and silence their defenders.

Continue reading

The human rights situation in Colombia

Mr President: CETIM and OIDHACO, welcome the presentation of the High Comissioner’s report and highlight the importance of the Office in Colombia with its current mandate. We share concerns about legislative reforms which, as highlighted in the report, “would extend military jurisdiction to investigate violations of human rights and international humanitarian law, including those already […]

Continue reading

Activities of Vulture Funds and Their Impact on Human Rights

Mr. Chair, The phenomenon of vulture funds is inextricably linked to states’ debt, and it affects most countries. Thus, the CETIM and the CADTM1 welcome the mandate that the Human Rights Council has given to the Advisory Committee regarding the effect of vulture fund activities on human rights, and we offer the Committee our support […]

Continue reading

Binding Norms for Transnational Corporations

Thank you Mr. Ambassador. The CETIM is an organization based in Geneva that was created fourty years ago to promote a more equitable international system and fairer North-South relations. Since its creation, it is actively engaged in the promotion of human rights, in particular economic, social and cultural rights, and the right to development. It […]

Continue reading

Rights of peasants: the work must continue!

Mr Chairman, Famine and malnutrition continue to affect nearly a billion persons throughout the world, 80% of whom live in rural areas and most of whom are food producers such as small family peasants. These peasants are confronted, and without any protection, not only with globalized market rules and commodity speculation in food but also […]

Continue reading

L’austérité et l’endettement imposé à la Grèce violent les droits humains du peuple grec et le droit international

La Grèce est soumise par ses créanciers à de douloureuses mesures d’ajustement structurel depuis mai 2010. Les effets sociaux et économiques sont dramatiques. Une commission pour la vérité sur la dette publique été créée en avril 2015 par le Parlement grec. Les conclusions de son rapport préliminaire sont claires : la dette et les mesures d’austérité imposées à la Grèce violent les droits humains du peuple grec et le droit international, la dette réclamée en 2015 à la Grèce est totalement insoutenable, et une grande partie de celle-ci est illégale, illégitime et odieuse et doit ainsi être répudiée.

Davantage d'informations

L’instrument international contraignant doit cibler les sociétés transnationales (STN)

Madame la Présidente, Avec la mondialisation de l’économie, les sociétés transnationales (STN) sont devenues des acteurs majeurs, puissants et incontournables et leurs activités sont sources de multiples violations des droits humains. De nos jours, quelques centaines de STN contrôlent au niveau mondial l’essentiel de la production et de la commercialisation des biens et des services. […]

Davantage d'informations

Huit propositions pour le nouvel instrument international contraignant sur les sociétés transnationales et les droits humains

Cette communication contient huit propositions par rapport à la nature, la portée, la forme et le contenu du futur instrument international contraignant. Elle est présentée au nom de la Campagne mondiale pour démanteler le pouvoir des STN et mettre fin à l’impunité, un réseau international qui regroupe plus de 200 mouvements sociaux, réseaux, organisations et représentants de victimes et de communautés affectées du monde entier.

Davantage d'informations

Les actions de Chevron limitent la liberté d’expression des victimes, académiciens, étudiants et activistes

En 26 ans d’exploitation pétrolière en Amazonie équatorienne, Chevron (anciennement Texaco) a souillé plus de 450’000 hectares d’une des zones de la planète les plus riches en biodiversité, détruisant les conditions de vie et de subsistance de ses habitants. Après 21 ans de litige et malgré une condamnation de la justice équatorienne, l’impunité continue pour Chevron et les victimes de ses activités en Équateur attendent toujours justice et réparation. De son côté, Chevron a rejeté sa responsabilité et n’a eu de cesse de consacrer d’énormes efforts et ressources pour ignorer la sentence, persécuter les victimes et faire taire leurs défenseurs.

Davantage d'informations

Accès à la justice et droit à l’alimentation : la marche à suivre

Monsieur le Président, L’analyse de la Rapporteuse spéciale sur le droit à l’alimentation sur les difficultés à demander des comptes aux sociétés transnationales pour des violations des droits humains commises démontre, si besoin est, la nécessité de mettre en place à l’échelle internationale des normes contraignantes pour ces entités. Tâche que doit remplir le nouveau […]

Davantage d'informations

Droits humains et changement climatique

Monsieur le Président, Mesdames et Messieurs, Pour le CETIM – Centre Europe Tiers-Monde -, auquel s’associent la Coordination climat et justice sociale et le Forum pour une nouvelle gouvernance mondiale, il existe un lien indissoluble entre les conséquences dramatiques du changement climatique et les droits humains qui sont défendus dans cette enceinte. La gouvernance mondiale […]

Davantage d'informations